Speaker Of The 8th Parliament Elected

Former Member of Parliament (MP) for Nadowli Kaleo Constituency and Second Deputy Speaker of the 7th Parliament, Alban Sumana Kingsford Bagbin, has been elected Speaker for the 8th Parliament of the Fourth Republic.

It had been a marathon of confusion on the floor of Parliament right from the dissolution of the 7th Parliament through to the election of a new speaker for the 8th Parliament.

An election process, which started moments after 12:00 am on January 7, ran through the dawn to about 6:00 am.

SEE ALSO  NDC’s Game Plan In Parliament Was To Destroy Akufo-Addo’s Swearing In || Kennedy Agyapong

The provisional results suggest that the National Democratic Congress (NDC) side of the House beat the New Patriotic Party (NPP) side with three votes to put Mr. Bagbin ahead of the immediate past Speaker of Parliament, Prof. Aaron Mike Oquaye, who was re-nominated by the NPP caucus.

Bagbin is a member of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) and had represented the Nadowli Kaleo Constituency in the Upper West Region in Parliament seven consecutive times.

He did not contest last year’s elections.

SEE ALSO  Video Of Ken Agyapong Calling For Peace Between NDC MPs & NPP MPs In Parliament

Source: 3news.com|Ghana

More Stories
Afia Schwar’s Sons Sue Adu Sarfowaa For Claiming They Sleep With Their Mum